I found this recipe on one of those copy-cat websites about 10 years ago. It is a version of Tupelo Style Chicken from the Hard Rock Cafe. That recipe is one of those ones where you dip the chicken into flour then an egg and milk mixture several times. I don’t have the time or the patience for that nonsense so I ended up changing it to dipping wet chicken into the breading ingredients. The other thing I changed was to bake the chicken instead of frying it. This is a little spicy for the kids for now but I think eventually they’ll like it. I like the contrast of the spicy chicken with the honey mustard dipping sauce.

Tupelo Chicken

  • 1 lb thin-sliced boneless, skinless chicken breasts (You could also do nuggets or strips. I usually do the entire breast because it’s quicker.)
  • 1 cup cornflake crumbs
  • 2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • dash of garlic powder

Directions:

  1. Prepare a baking sheet by lining with foil and spraying with oil of your choice. (I love my Misto sprayer.) Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Combine all the dry ingredients on a plate and mix with a fork.(I prepare this in a large quantity and keep a jar in the cabinet to make dinner prep really quick on weeknights.)

    My jar of tupelo breading mix.

  3. Trim chicken and rinse with cold water.
  4. Dip each piece of chicken into the dry ingredients and place onto the prepared baking sheet.
  5. Bake at 425 degrees for 20-25 minutes, or until the chicken is thoroughly cooked.
  6. Meanwhile prepare the honey mustard dipping sauce. (Recipe follows.)
  7. Serve with rice pilaf and honey mustard dipping sauce.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 3 tsp prepared mustard
  • 4 tsp honey
  • pinch of paprika

Mix all ingredients and refrigerate until the chicken is cooked.

The finished honey mustard dipping sauce. This is also great as salad dressing.

