These were a hit!

My niece’s first communion was this weekend and I decided to make a couple of recipes that I’ve bookmarked for her party after church. Both of the recipes included strawberries and they were both a big hit. The sandwiches were a little bit out of everyone’s comfort zone but the brave people who tried them really liked them and that got other people to try them too. Everyone raved about the stuffed strawberries and several people asked for the recipe. I think both recipes had a “wow-factor” that stood out from the regular chips and dip food. They were so easy and I especially had fun assembling the tea sandwiches.

You can find the recipe for the Strawberry Tea Sandwiches at the The Hungry Housewife blog. I stretched the recipe to make 28 sandwiches because that is what fit on my vintage Corning Ware tray.

I didn't have a circle cookie cutter so I used my handy biscuit cutter, a clean tomato paste can.

Strawberry tea sandwiches

The recipe for Stuffed Strawberries with Mint comes from the Shining Spoon blog. This was so easy and was a very impressive display. I’m all for anything with fresh mint since I have a ton of it growing in my garden. It’s the only thing that I can grow. I got a little tired of poking the mint leaves into the cream cheese because my kids picked the leaves for me and they chose only big leaves. It was difficult to make them look right.

I dried the berries on a red towel to prevent stains.

Stuffed strawberries waiting patiently for their mint leaves.

