Okay, maybe I’m getting a little carried away with the fresh dill. I hate to see something go to waste so I’m trying to come up with all kinds of ways to incorporate dill into my meals. This is one recipe that I happened to create by accident. I was putting together a side dish for myself with sliced cucumbers, dill and chives and had the thought to sprinkle it with white wine vinegar and just like that I stumbled upon Quick Pickles. Lately I have been abandoning salad dressing in favor of balsamic, red wine or white wine vinegar and I haven’t missed the salad dressing one bit. I’m planning to make a big batch of my Quick Pickles for a barbecue this weekend.

Quick Pickles

  • 1 cup of thinly sliced cucumber, cut into semi-circles
  • 2 Tbsp fresh dill, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp fresh chives, chopped (I use my kitchen scissors for the dill and chives.)
  • White wine vinegar (to taste)
  • Course salt (to taste)

Mix all the ingredients and let sit for 30 minutes. Don’t pour too much vinegar at first, you can always add more later.

Another time when I didn't mind that no one wanted to try this recipe. More for me!

