Last night (on my birthday!) I took my daughter to a birthday party for a friend at Chuck E. Cheese. Pizza at Chuck E. Cheese was not my idea of a great birthday dinner so we decided to make a proper birthday dinner today instead. I had my heart set on homemade Scallion Pancakes so we paired that with our favorite Sweet and Sour Chicken recipe. You can find the Scallion Pancake recipe at Family Fun magazine along with Soy-Ginger Dipping Sauce.  They have some great step by step photos included. This was the second time that I made these and I love how simple they are.

This recipe for Sweet and Sour Chicken is adapted from a recipe that my mother-in-law got while she was working at a Chinese restaurant in Sydney, Nova Scotia. In Canada these would be called Sweet and Sour Chicken Balls. That is what her recipe says and that is how you know it is an authentic restaurant recipe. It takes about an hour to prepare and it’s not the healthiest but it is our go-to meal for celebrations at our house.

Sweet and Sour Chicken

  • 3-4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (parboiled and cut into bite-size pieces)

Mix to make batter:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup of water

Sweet and Sour Sauce:

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 Tbsp cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 1/4 cup vinegar
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup water

Mix batter ingredients and then add the cooked chicken into batter and drop each coated piece into hot oil then fry to a golden brown. Drain on paper towels. While the chicken is frying mix the sauce ingredients in a sauce pan and cook over medium heat stirring occasionally until thickened. Spoon sauce over the chicken. Serve with white rice.

Soy-Ginger Dipping Sauce for the Scallion Pancakes.

Scallion pancake dough is just flour, water and salt.

This fried chicken is so delicious. It is worth all the mess and work.

My wonderful husband made the chicken while I worked on the Scallion Pancakes. He always snacks while he cooks.

