Okay, I’ve procrastinated… I meant to look for a recipe to help me like peas and it’s been almost a month since I made that statement here. I even had a great suggestion from Michelle from One Ordinary Day for Pea Salad and I promise you that I will be making that recipe very soon. However, tonight I made a very delicious pea salad which was inspired by a gorgeous photo on foodgawker. It was from FoodMayhem and their recipe is called Fresh Peas with Mint. And oh my gosh… I just watched a video of them eating live octopus over there and I have to say that it will be MANY years before I could work myself up to trying something like that. Now I’m getting off topic. Back to the peas.

I found fresh unshelled peas at the farm stand on Saturday and grabbed them up. I figured that my attempt at getting myself to like peas might be better to start with the fresh variety since the frozen ones grossed me out before. The kids were intrigued with the peas in the pod. My daughter even dug out a little eraser that was her favorite thing when she was three.

My daughter's pea pod eraser.

Not that I was thrilled that she insisted on sleeping with her eraser for naps at the time but now it’s just cute and I’m glad she kept it (and that it wasn’t swallowed). The kids while interested in the cute little peas in their pods would not try the peas. I suppose their fascination with the natural packaging of peas might lead to them trying them someday.

This wasn’t really my first attempt at eating peas again. Actually, I added some of the shelled peas to a tasty omelet I made for myself on Sunday morning. So, I knew that I was heading in the right direction.

Fresh Peas with Mint (adapted from FoodMayhem)

  • 3/4 cup fresh peas, shelled
  • 1 scallion, diced
  • 1 Tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 3/4 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp fresh mint, chopped
  • kosher salt and fresh ground pepper, to taste

Prepare and bowl with ice water and set aside. Bring some water to a boil and drop the peas into the water. Cook for about 2 minutes and remove the peas from the water with a slotted spoon and drop them into the ice water. Drain the peas and set aside. Add remaining ingredients to a small bowl and whisk until combined. Add the peas to the bowl and serve.

Freshly shelled peas are so much prettier than the frozen variety. Once they have cooked the color is slightly brighter.

One delicious bite of peas. I never thought I would say that.

These peas went well with our dinner tonight. I'll tell you all about my mint meatloaf tomorrow.

