My favorite thing to bake is cookies. Cookies are my way of dealing with stress and how I share joy. When I saw this recipe for Chewy Lime Sugar Cookies from Jamie at My Baking Addiction I bookmarked it for later. Finally I had to the chance to make them. I was also trying to use up some limes that have been hanging out in my fridge for some time and getting ready for a weekend at Cape Cod. I thought these would be a lovely dessert to share with everyone who will be with us. Actually, I made several new things for this weekend but you’ll need to stay tuned to see how those other things turned out.

This was a very easy recipe to make.

Lime Sugar Cookies (adapted from My Baking Addiction)

  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup butter, melted (this is where I messed up but it turned out fine)
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Zest of 2 small limes, finely minced
  • 3 Tbsp lime juice (or use the juice from the 2 limes
  • 1/2 cup sweetened coconut
  • 1/2 cup sugar for rolling cookies

In a small bowl, stir together flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Set aside. Mix together the butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in egg, vanilla extract, lime juice and lime zest. Gradually blend in the dry ingredients and coconut. Chill cookie dough for 20 minutes. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper. Roll rounded teaspoonfuls of dough into balls, and roll in sugar. Place on lined cookie sheets about 1 1/2 inches apart. Bake 7 minutes in the preheated oven, or until lightly browned. (I hardly ever bake cookies for longer than 7 minutes. I think it the perfect amount of baking time.) Let stand on cookie sheet two minutes before removing to cool on wire racks.

Here is a tip for storing cookies that I learned from my Mom. Place a crust of bread in the sealed container with the cookies and they will stay soft much longer.

I can't wait to share these.

