Back when I made homemade yogurt I was brainstorming all the things I could make with yogurt and my friend from Singapore suggested that I make a Lassi.  Please ignore the title of that yogurt post because obviously I have purchased yogurt again. It didn’t turn out to be a never-ending yogurt factory at my house as I had hoped.

A lassi is a popular and traditional drink from India or Pakistan. You can learn more about all the different varieties of lassi from Wikipedia.  Some are rather interesting even if they would be illegal here. Yikes!

I decided to make a lassi because I had a mango in my fridge that I picked up to get the kids to try.  They were snacking on blueberries when we got home and my daughter wanted more but I told her she would need to try a bit of mango first. She opted to not have any more berries. My son was a little more interested until his sister yelled to him, “Don’t eat it, it’s mango!” What a brat! I did manage to convince him to lick it. But that’s the most he would do. Too bad because the mango was so sweet and juicy.

Mango Lassi

  • 1 mango, cut into large chunks
  • 1 cup yogurt (I used Greek yogurt but would recommend using regular yogurt.)
  • 1 Tbsp honey
  • dash of nutmeg (I have found the some recipes use cardamom but I don’t have that on-hand.)
  • milk to thin for consistency

Add all ingredients in blender and mix until well combined. Add milk to thin and mix so you can drink it from a straw. Serve immediately.

This hit the spot on this hot day. Cool and refreshing.

This is basically a mango smoothie. I'll definitely make it again.

