These cookies were the signature cookie of my husband’s grandmother. She always made them with a heart cookie cutter. I never had the pleasure of meeting his grandmother but we still have her recipes and she’s got some really great ones. I love how memories live on through recipes passed down.

We’re leaving for vacation to Cape Breton, Nova Scotia this week and I’m scheduling some recipes in advance so you won’t miss me too much. I can’t wait to tell you all about the wonderful food we eat while on vacation. My mother-in-law made these for us last week. They are not too sweet and perfect with a cup of tea.

Mom’s Molasses Cookies

This is the original recipe in his grandmother's handwriting. It is such a treasure.

  • 1/2 cup shortening, melted
  • 1 cup molasses
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp ground cloves

Add all the above ingredients to a saucepan and bring to a boil. Remove from heat and allow to cool. Add 1 egg and flour. (The notes don’t have an amount for the flour so you’ll need to add it until you get the right consistency to roll the dough.) Roll out and cut with cookie cutters. Bake at 350F for 7 to 10 minutes. (The notes also say that these roll out easier after being chilled overnight.)

The kids gobble these up.

A perfect accompaniment to a cup of tea.

