Muffin Mania has done it again. I cannot praise that cookbook enough. This recipe for blueberry muffins is absolutely  incredible. My son and I mixed these up one afternoon and they were just delightful.  The batter is mild enough that it allows the blueberries to shine. You could substitute chocolate chips or other berries and still have great results.

Blueberry Muffins (from Muffin Mania)

  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 egg

My son was my helper for these muffins and set himself up in front of the oven to watch the muffins bake. Better than watching TV!

In a large bowl combine all the dry ingredients and the blueberries. In a small bowl combine the melted butter, milk and egg. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix gently until just combined. As a rule you should never beat muffin batter so you will have light and fluffy muffins. Fill muffin tins 3/4 full and bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes. Makes 12 muffins.

You can enjoy these muffins just like this. Or...

...you could melt about 2 Tbsp of butter; dip the tops of the muffins in the butter and then into some white sugar.

I think these were the perfect blueberry muffins. Finally a recipe that my husband liked too.

