…make the fruit roll-ups again. My second attempt at homemade fruit roll-ups was successful. Just in time for the first day of school. I won’t be sending this in my daughter’s lunch though because they are very sticky. Best eaten at home with easy access to a sink.  This was a fun recipe to make but I’m not sure that I’ll make them again unless I have a dehydrator. Since last time I made fruit roll-ups I ended up with a burnt mess I decided to make these without the oven turned on. Instead I left the light on inside the oven which did not please my husband. He thought I was wasting energy. His suggestion was to place it in the hot sun in the car. My car smells like a new car otherwise I thought that was a pretty good idea.

I left the fruit puree to dry all day hoping that would do the trick but it was still very soft by bedtime. So I left it in the oven overnight and still it was not dry. By Sunday I needed to use the oven to bake some things and the fruit roll-ups needed to leave it’s cozy home in the oven. After I was done baking each recipe I turned off the oven and placed the roll-ups back in the hot oven knowing that it would not burn since the oven would be cooling down. That did the trick after I made cookies and then apple pie.

Peach Fruit Roll-Ups

  • 5 ripe peaches, cut into chunks (I used up some peaches that were soon headed to the compost pile. You really could use any fruit.)
  • 1/2 cup sugar (adjust to your taste)

Cook the peaches and sugar in a saucepan over medium heat until boiling. Reduce heat and simmer for 30 to 45 minutes. Remove from heat and use a stick blender to puree the peaches until smooth. Be careful at this step since the peaches will be hot.

Spread the peach puree evenly on a parchment lined baking sheet and place in your oven overnight or for however long it takes for the puree to dry. (I think that part of my problem was that the puree was thicker on one side.) If you have a dehydrator use that. You need to be able to touch the puree without getting peaches stuck to your finger. Use kitchen scissors to cut strips of the fruit leather keeping it on the parchment paper and roll up. I’m storing mine in the fridge to ensure that they don’t get moldy.

Both my kids barely hesitated to try this. They are starting to trust me a little more when I offer then different things. Although this isn’t really different from something they already like. They both commented that these tasted the same as the fruit leather we buy at Trader Joe’s. I think this is a great way to use up fruit that is too ripe for eating.

