I’ve been married for almost 14 years and all that I time I thought my husband did not like lemons. So I avoided recipes with lemon for all that time. Imagine my surprise during a recent trip that he wanted a piece of lemon pound cake for a snack from the Starbucks in the Miami airport. Unfortunately the pound cake from Starbucks was a disappointment considering we walked two miles to get there. If you’ve been to the Miami International Airport you know what I mean. I have no idea why I thought he didn’t like lemons. Maybe it’s because he won’t eat lemon meringue pie. This opens up my options for recipes quite a bit don’t you think?

I remembered that I had a recipe for Lemon Loaf from my mother tucked away in my recipe box. She made it fairly often when I was a kid and would frequently freeze it to have something to pull out for surprise guests. So I know this recipe is a good one but never made it because I figured that no one else would eat it.  Funny thing about the recipe card is that it doesn’t have any instructions on it, just the ingredients. I used the directions from the recipe for quick breads in my Betty Crocker Cookbook and it turned out fantastic.  I also decided to pimp this recipe by adding a layer of raspberry preserves in the middle of the cake.

Lemon Pound Cake (with raspberry preserves)

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • rind of one lemon
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup of raspberry preserves (cook raspberries with sugar until softened or microwave some purchased preserves to make spreadable)
  • For the glaze: juice from one lemon & 1/4 cup sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a loaf pan and set aside. Cream together butter and sugar, add egg, lemon rind, baking powder, flour and milk and mix until combined.

Pour half the batter into prepared loaf pan. Spread the raspberry preserves over the batter and then cover with the remaining cake batter.

Bake for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes cover the pan with foil and bake for another 15 minutes.

While the cake is baking combine the lemon juice and 1/4 cup of sugar and have ready for when you remove loaf from oven. Pour the lemon juice glaze over the cake hot out of the oven. (This is fun because the glaze bubbles and seeps down into the cake.) Allow the cake to cool in the pan on a wire rack. Once cool remove from pan and enjoy!

These raspberries were left over from our trip to the farm last week. You really need to use raspberries within the first day of picking them before they get moldy. My husband LOVES raspberries and we picked three boxes for him. His favorite way to eat raspberries is with some sugar and cream. Alternately we will make raspberry preserves and he’ll mix in some cream in a bowl and dip buttered toast into the mixture.  This works really well with frozen raspberries as well.

My daughter was great about picking the berries and even decided to try them out. She never ate them before. My son was like Sal in Blueberries for Sal and complained that his berry box wouldn’t stay full because he was eating them.

My daughter ate one raspberry and proceeded to spit it out all over the ground. That was fine with me. Our rule is to try it but she doesn’t need to like it. However the berries were so attractive to her that she tried them 3 more times. Her first excuse was that she had a bad berry and second excuse was that she needed to get used to it. After 4 attempts I told her to stop because she was wasting berries. I was proud of her to trying it out. She won’t eat this cake because of the raspberries in it and I’ve promised her that I’ll another just for her without them.

