I first made this recipe for Easter dinner earlier this year. I’m the one who always is asked to bring green bean casserole to all the family holiday dinners. While green bean casserole is great I felt we needed something new. I believe that I copied the recipe out of a cookbook from the library but I never wrote down the name of the book. This version is a variation from that recipe because I wanted to experiment with some new vegetables. My new vegetable this week is shallots so I subbed that in for the garlic and I switched the broccoli rabe for broccolini.

I’m calling this a Marvelous Mushroom Tart because I love it so much that I have eaten it everyday for lunch since Sunday. I’m not tired of it either. My husband complained that it is a “stinky” dish. My daughter then made a comment that I should call my blog “What’s that smell?” They still aren’t over the brussel sprouts I think.

Marvelous Mushroom Tart

  • One 9-inch pie crust (You can find my recipe for pie crust here.)
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 2 shallots, thinly sliced (or use 2 cloves garlic, minced)
  • 5 cups sliced mushrooms (cremini, portabella, shitake, or button) – I used a mix of cremini & button.
  • 3 cups chopped broccolini (or use broccoli rabe)
  • 2/3 cup low-fat milk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp dried sage
  • 1/2 cup grated sharp cheddar cheese (You can also use crumbled goat cheese or Monterey Jack.)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper

Press the pie crust into the bottom and up the sides of a 9-inch removable-bottom tart pan. (I bought my tart pan specifically for this recipe.) Set aside.

Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the shallots and cook, stirring for 1 minute. Add the mushrooms and cook, stirring a few times until they release their juices about 5 minutes.

Add the broccolini, cook 3 to 5 minutes until tender. Remove from heat and pour into crust.

Whisk milk, eggs, spices in a small bowl and pour over the mushrooms.

Sprinkle cheese evenly over the top. (I place the entire pan on top of a pizza pan in case it leaks out the bottom.) Then bake 25 to 30 minutes until knife inserted comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes before slicing.

You can also make this without the cheese.  I’ve also made it with cheese only on one side so members of my family who don’t like cheese can eat it. That’s my extended family I’m talking about because my husband and kids are not interested.

