This weekend I attended the North American Sea Glass Festival in Hyannis, Massachusetts and in anticipation I made Sea Glass Candy. I don’t know why I’d been so nervous about making candy. Maybe because it’s so similar to a high school chemistry class. Thanks to the recipe from Not So Humble Pie I was ready to try this out. I am also in love with her series featuring science cookies. You should definitely check that out.

Making candy is really very simple when you have a thermometer. The hardest part about this recipe is waiting for the sugar to reach 300 degrees. I didn’t have any food coloring (I’m pretty sure I tossed all of it in my efforts to get rid of nasty chemicals.) and I couldn’t find any natural food coloring at my local store so I used 1/3 of a bottle of blue sprinkles to make the blue candy. That defeats my efforts to get rid of bad food colorings but I felt that I really needed to make blue candy. My first batch was intended to be white glass but I left the candy on the burner a little too long and ended up with some amber glass instead. Lesson learned for the second batch and that came out perfectly.

Sea Glass Candy

(from Not So Humble Pie)

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup light corn syrup
  • 6 Tbsp water
  • food coloring
  • 1/2 tsp flavoring oil
  • non-stick cooking spray
  • powdered sugar for dusting

Lightly spray a small metal pan with non-stick spray.  Don’t use ceramic or glass pans for fairly obvious reasons… you’re going to break up the candy into shards by smacking it with a hammer. In a small non-stick sauce pan, stir together the sugar, water and corn syrup and place over medium heat. Stir until the sugar dissolves. When it begins to simmer, wash down the sides of the pan with a damp pastry brush, attach your candy thermometer and watch. Just watch, no stirring. (I liked the no stirring part.) When the mixture hits the 250°F range add any food colorings. Again, don’t stir. The bubbling action will distribute the color for you.

Once your thermometer reads 300°F remove from the heat and then add your flavoring and stir. Be careful as it will bubble and steam. Immediately pour the bubbling mixture into your prepared pan and allow to sit until cool.

Once it has fully cooled, cover with a piece of parchment paper and hit it with a mallet.

At this point the candy looks just like glass. We emphasized to the kids to never put glass in their mouths and that this was candy. Put the broken pieces of candy in a bowl and dust with powdered sugar.

The amber candy was flavored with Lorann coconut candy flavoring and with the slightly burnt sugar it tastes like toasted coconut. I used Trader Joe’s organic peppermint extract for the blue candy. My daughter would only eat the blue and my son the amber so that worked out well.

Store the candy in an airtight container at room temperature.

The sea glass festival was a little bit of a let down. There’s only so much sea glass jewelry that you can look at without it becoming repetitive. Plus it was so incredibly crowded that it was nearly impossible to navigate past some of the most popular booths. The best part was the collectors room where they had tables set up showing several personal collections that were only for display.  It was great talking to those people who were passionate about their hobby.

