The other day my Mother-in-law sent me home with a bag of tomatoes. She had made mince-meat pie with green tomatoes and that got me thinking that green tomatoes could be used for so much more than being fried. If I get a chance to take some photos I’ll share the recipe for that later on this week. So while browsing on Tastespotting I found a recipe for Green Tomato Muffins. As soon as I saw it I just knew that I had to try it.

Green Tomato Muffins

(adapted from The Eclectic Cook)

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup, unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 1/2 cups green tomatoes, seeded and chopped (I used my mini-chopper to cut the tomatoes very finely.)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Line a muffin pan with paper cups. In a medium bowl, mix the flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugars. Add the egg and mix well to combine. Gently stir in the milk. Stir in the flour mixture then fold in the tomatoes.

Fill the muffin cups with the batter. Bake for 20 minutes until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin will come out clean. Cool for 10 minutes, then remove from tin and cool completely on a wire cooling rack.

Here is a close-up of the inside of the muffin. There are bits of green throughout. They are very similar to a zucchini or carrot muffin in which you don’t taste the tomatoes at all. I also attempted to make a brown butter frosting which kind of seized up. I thought adding frosting would make the kids interested in trying these out.

It didn’t work. I haven’t decided to bring them to work just yet because I’d have to put out an extensive note explaining why the icing looks funny but promise that it tastes good.

