One of my favorite books lately is “Linchpin: Are You Indispensable?” by Seth Godin. In it he writes about giving your gift to the world without wanting anything in return. It really got me thinking about what it means to be an artist. I’ve been pondering this one particular thought during my weekly power-walks through my neighborhood. I truly believe that an artist is someone finds the beauty in this world. Maybe you find beauty in your interaction with the cashier at the supermarket or in the way wet leaves are arranged on the sidewalk. I think a constant search for beauty will make my life more enjoyable.

So why am I disappointed when my submissions to those famous food websites are rejected again and again? And why do I keep sending more in submissions? I don’t know. I’ve only got a 6% rate of success at foodgawker and only slightly better at TasteSpotting. Perhaps I’ll take a break on submitting photos for a while. I know I’ll eventually go back to them though. My reasons for writing about our adventures in new food is that it’s fun and I’m finding beauty in the entire process.  For now this is my art and it’s a gift to you.

I made these cookies for our office bake sale last week. I wanted to make Lime Sugar Cookies but only had one lime and one lemon and no coconut so instead this recipe became Lemon-Lime Cookies. One of my friends appreciated the change to the recipe since she doesn’t like coconut. I personally like it better with coconut but this still makes for some very tasty cookies.

Lemon-Lime Sugar Cookies

  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • Zest of 1 small lime and 1 small lemon, finely minced
  • juice from the lime
  • 1/2 cup sugar for rolling cookies

In a small bowl, stir together flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Set aside. Mix together the butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in egg, vanilla extract, lime juice and lemon/lime zest.

Gradually blend in the dry ingredients. Chill cookie dough for 20 minutes. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper. Roll rounded teaspoonfuls of dough into balls, and roll in sugar. Place on lined cookie sheets about 1 1/2 inches apart. Bake 7 minutes in the preheated oven, or until lightly browned.  Let stand on cookie sheet two minutes before removing to cool on wire racks.

These weren’t a top seller at the bake sale but since I had them wrapped in individual servings I took the leftovers home and used them for the school cake walk. It sure saved me some time during a crazy weekend.

