I’m not one who usually just makes up a recipe. I’m more likely to tweak an existing recipe. This however is my very own invention. I was preparing eggplant parmesan one evening and on a whim grabbed a handful of quinoa and added it to the breadcrumbs. The eggplant never became parmesaned (now I’m making up words too) because I ate all the eggplant straight off the pan. It was crispy, nutty and delicious… almost like a snack food. And eggplant chips were born. I bought two more eggplants this past weekend and made myself a healthy and delicious lunch of just eggplant. Doesn’t that goes well with my “eat more vegetables” mantra?

Eggplant Chips

(a Try It You Might Like It original recipe)

  • 2 small-medium eggplant
  • 1/4 cup Italian-flavored bread crumbs
  • 1/8 cup pre-rinsed quinoa (or a couple of handfuls)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. In a plate mix together all the dry ingredients with a fork. Wash and dry the eggplant then slice into rounds of 1/8-inch thick. Press each eggplant round into the dry ingredients coating both sides. Place onto the prepared baking sheet.

Spray the tops of the coated eggplant lightly with olive oil. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until your smoke detector goes off… wait… that’s just at my house… until the eggplant is browned and crisp. Eat hot.

My husband looks at me like I’m crazy when I make something like this. His only question to me was “You’re not making something stinky are you?” I feel a little guilty because I’m enjoying a fresh and tasty lunch while he eats toast but if he wasn’t so picky he might like it. I know better than to suggest he try it.

 

