My son turned 5 last week and I made this batch of cupcakes for his preschool class. This is the last chance that I’ll get to share treats with his class for his birthday since next year he’ll be in kindergarten. His school next year has a strict policy on food in the classroom and I’m totally fine with that. This recipe comes from a blog called Sweet and Savory Tooth and the original recipe included almond extract which I eliminated so all the kids could partake. Also I didn’t have the right kind of sprinkles to make them into funfetti cupcakes so I left that out.

My daughter was my official taste-tester and she said it was the best cupcake she’s ever tasted. There you have it… this is now my go-to recipe for birthday cupcakes.

Vanilla Cupcakes

(adapted from Sweet and Savory Tooth)

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 6 Tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 egg, plus 1 egg white
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup milk

Heat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a muffin tin with cupcake papers. In a large bowl, sift flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside. With a mixer, beat the sugar and butter until fluffy, about 2-3 minutes. Add egg and egg white, one at a time, then vanilla beating on low. Gradually add flour mixture in 3 portions, alternating with milk in 2 portions, ending with the flour mixture.

Fill cupcake liners about 2/3 full. Bake for about 18-20 minutes (less for mini-cupcakes like mine) or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Remove from pan and cool completely on a wire cooling rack before frosting.

I used a generous dollop of marshmallow fluff in my frosting and it turned out really well.  I didn’t use a recipe but the frosting is basically marshmallow fluff, approximately 3 tablespoons of softened butter and 1-2 cups of confectioners sugar. Add milk by the tablespoon until you get a good consistency for spreading.

These are really good… light and soft like a cake mix.

