I had a cookie epiphany this weekend. Really!  I have always had trouble with cut-out cookies. With this recipe every cookie turned out perfectly… well except for that one pan that I left in the oven too long but that was not the recipe’s fault. The epiphany was that you don’t need to roll out all the dough at once to cut the cookies. That was my problem. When you roll out just enough dough to cut out one cookie you ensure that it is the right thickness and you can pull the excess dough from around the cookie cutter creating perfectly shaped cookies. It doesn’t take any longer using this method and this is the only way that I’m making sugar cookies from now on. Thanks go to Cooking With My Kid for this incredible recipe.

My co-workers were really happy with their cookies this morning.  My husband thought that giving out just one cookie was stingy but with the right presentation I thought it was impressive.  They could tell that a lot of thought and effort went into those cookies. You’ve got to plan ahead because the dough needs to rest in the fridge for 3 days before you bake. I’m not sure why you need to do that but these cookies were perfect so I trust those instructions in the recipe.

Professional Style Sugar Cookies

(adapted from Cooking With My Kid)

  • 1 lb (4 sticks) butter, room temperature
  • 2 1/4 cups sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 5 cups flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 tsp baking powder

Cream butter and sugar with mixer.  Add eggs one at a time.  Add the dry ingredients and mix with a big spatula before mixing the dough with the mixer.   Refrigerate the dough for at least three days in advance.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Flatten dough and roll out dough on area covered with flour.  (For the size of my cookie cutters I found that a scoop of dough using my ice cream scoop was the perfect amount for each cookie. Also, it was best to work with cold dough. Once the dough warmed up it was harder to work with. Place the dough back in the fridge periodically to keep it chilled.)

Dough should be about 1/8 inch think. Cut with cookie cutter.  Place on parchment-lined cookie sheet. (You’ll want to make sure that your baking sheets are cool when placing the uncooked cookies on them.) Bake for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown on the edges. (I baked my cookies only 7 minutes.) Cool and then frost with royal icing frosting.

I made mittens and snowflakes. I got over 50 cookies in total. This was my first time working with Royal Frosting and it took a little while to get used to it. I didn’t attempt the flooding method but I think that I will next time. The Curvy Carrot has an excellent tutorial on using Royal Icing.

My favorite design included light lines on the mitten shape that I then covered with nonpareils. I really wanted to use all white nonpareils but I couldn’t find any at the store.

My kids were beside themselves about these cookies. They couldn’t believe that I was going to take them all to work and give them away. I’m going to have to make them again soon. The one thing that bugs me about professional sugar cookies is that they are usually hard. These cookies were soft and almost cakey.

