I’m not Oprah but I do have favorite things. Here’s my list for 2010 of the best new things I’ve discovered that have become my favorites.

  1. Yes to Carrots shampoo & conditioner: My hair has never been so soft. I love that they clearly note on the bottles that no paraben is included in the ingredients. I always check ingredients for paraben and there have been times when I’ve bought something that includes it because it’s buried in a long list and I didn’t catch it.
  2. Love Your Mama rosemary & peppermint blend artisan soap: I ordered a gift box from Love Your Mama last year after listening to an episode of Stuff You Should Know when Chuck mentioned that his wife was opening a storefront for Love Your Mama in Atlanta. The olive oil soap lasted a very long time and smelled great.
  3. ThinkGeek: This website is just fun to browse. I ordered a few things from them for gifts. I love that ThinkGeek makes a point to be fun about everything. I even enjoy reading their promotional emails that lists their sales because they are so cleverly written. My husband wishes he had a reason to order the Tauntaun sleeping bag.
  4. Seventh Generation Lemongrass & Clementine Zest dish soap: I sometimes have difficultly finding that particular scent and when I don’t have it I genuinely miss it. Dish soap! Yeah, I miss it when I don’t have it. That’s how I figured out that it was my favorite.
  5. MyPublisher.com: We make custom calendars with all the pictures of the grandkids every year for the whole family. This year I was way behind in putting it together and I finally finished on December 20th and resigned myself to the fact that the calendars wouldn’t get here in time for Christmas (mostly because I didn’t want to pay extra for shipping). I also found a coupon online for 50% off and free shipping. So the calendars are beautiful and arrived on December 24th in time to give out at Christmas. I’ve made calendars using almost all the different photo websites and I think MyPublisher is the best.
  6. The IT Crowd: This is my favorite TV series that we’ve started watching this year. Thank goodness for Netflix recommendations. The show is about the I.T. department of Reynholm Industries and all their crazy antics. Don’t bother with version from the U.S… it’s not as good. My favorite line from the show is from Jen during a manager meeting. She says, “With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type “Google” into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke. (the executives laugh) It’s not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.” We are anxiously awaiting for the 4th season to become available to watch instantly.
  7. Kanoodle game: My daughter got this as a Christmas gift from my sister-in-law and she carried around with her for two days. (We exchanged gifts a couple of weeks ago.) I love it’s compact size and that it’s a low-tech game that challenges and interests my daughter.
  8. Le Cellier Steakhouse at Epcot: I’m not listing this just because it’s a Canadian steakhouse at Disney World. We had our best restaurant meal there in 2010. Make sure you have advance reservations and order the Maple Creme Brulee.  The kid’s meals were great too.
  9. Tool Turn About from The Pampered Chef: I got this as part of a gift basket from the charity auction at my office. My husband’s reaction when I brought it home was that it was ugly. I don’t entirely disagree but it is so amazing that I don’t care. It holds ALL my cooking utensils and spins around to make finding the right tool easy. I am thrilled to regain access to my kitchen drawer that holds all my measuring spoons.
  10. Everyday Food magazine: My faithful followers will be saying, “well, duh” at this one. I am so happy with my subscription. With other magazines I tear out the recipes that I want to try and keep them in a folder until I’ve actually tried it out. With Everyday Food I keep the entire magazine on the bookshelf with my cookbooks. It would be sacrilege to damage the magazine like that.

Now that you’ve read my Top 10 list of 2010 I want to reward you for reading my blog this year. I’ve decided to sponsor my first blog giveaway myself. I will be rewarding one lucky person at random with a gift subscription to Everyday Food magazine.

Giveaway Rules

For your first entry, leave a comment here about your favorite new thing that you’ve tried in 2010.

For additional entries;

  • become a fan of Try It You Might Like on Facebook, then come back here and leave a comment mentioning that you are a fan
  • subscribe to Try It You Might Like It by email, then come back here and leave a comment
  • if you are already a fan or a subscriber, that counts for an entry too… just leave a comment to that effect

This giveaway starts on Monday December 27th and ends on Friday December 31st at midnight EST. I will contact the winner via email to get your mailing address for the magazine subscription. Sorry, this is only open to residents of U.S. and Canada. I was not compensated to list any of these products.

Note: This giveaway is now closed to comments.

