A few weeks ago I was craving bagels and cream cheese. Ever since I’ve been enjoying the Pepperidge Farms Bagel Flats but when I looked at the ingredients for my strawberry cream cheese I was appalled to see Red 40 on the list of ingredients. Really I shouldn’t be surprised because artificial food coloring finds it’s way into the most unlikely food and I feel it’s totally unnecessary.  So I decided that I could make my own flavored cream cheese.

This is not so much of a recipe as a guideline and encouragement to make your own flavored cream cheese. The combinations are endless.

Flavored Cream Cheese

  • 8 oz. cream cheese, room temperature
  • fresh herbs, minced (I used dill and chives.)
  • 1/2 cup cranberries, finely chopped
  • 1 Tbsp freshly squeezed orange juice

Using a handheld mixer, whip the cream cheese until light and fluffy. Split the cream cheese evenly into 2 bowls.  In one bowl add the fresh herbs and stir to combine. In the other bowl add the cranberries and orange juice and stir to combine. Add sugar to taste to the cranberry mixture if you are inclined.

Spread on crackers or bagels. Store covered in the refrigerator.

Some Triscuits with dill-chive cream cheese makes a lovely little snack.

Now you’ve got pink cream cheese with no Red 40. My cranberry-orange version was a bit watery but still quite delicious.

My son tried the herb version by dipping pretzels in it and he liked it.  :-)

