Not too long ago I fell in love with a new cookie. We were introduced by my co-worker (who also happens to be Full Time Foodie‘s mom) when she brought in these cookies to share at the office. I had a cold and the cookies actually made me feel better. Cookies as medicine? Not that I’m making medical claims for these cookies but that’s something that could catch on. So a quick email got Full Time Foodie to share the recipe and the rest is history. I would recommend doubling this recipe like I did. I shared these with my neighbors who were so kind to clear our out driveway after a snowstorm while we were away and I had plenty left for the family.

Molasses-Rye Snaps

(Adapted from Full Time Foodie via King Arthur Flour)

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground allspice
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 Tbsp molasses
  • 1 cup whole spelt flour
  • 1/4 cup diced crystallized ginger
  • 2/3 cup white rye or medium rye (not pumpernickel flour)
  • Turbinado sugar (for rolling cookies)

Cream the butter, sugar, baking soda, salt, and spices in a medium mixing bowl.  Beat in the egg and molasses, scraping the bowl.  Combine the 1/2 cup of the spelt flour with the crystallized ginger in a mini food processor, and process until the ginger is finely ground.  (My mini food processor didn’t do a great job at this.) Add this mixture to the bowl, along with the remaining spelt flour and rye flour, beating until smooth.  Cover the bowl and refrigerate the dough for 1 hour or overnight.

Preheat the oven to 350.  Prepare two parchment-lined baking sheets. Roll balls of dough the size of a whole walnut. I used the large end of my melon baller to scoop out the chilled dough. Coat the balls in turbinado sugar and place on prepared baking sheets.

Bake the cookies, reversing the pans midway through until they’re an even , deep-golden brown, 14 to 16 minutes. (I baked them for about 7-8 minutes because I like a chewy cookie.) The cookies should be cracked on top.Remove the cookies from the oven and allow them to cool for 5 minutes on the pan before transferring them to a rack to cool completely.

My husband is not a cookie person and usually only eats chocolate chip cookies. Amazingly he’s been eating these every day even though he knows the unusual ingredients. I was thrilled to bake using some cool and different flour. It was so interesting to read the packages on the spelt flour and rye flour. Did you know that spelt flour has less gluten than all-purpose flour so can be easier to digest for gluten sensitive people?

This recipe will be going into my regular baking rotation.

