This recipe comes from the latest issue of Everyday Food magazine. The in season section features pineapple and I’ve been checking out the fresh pineapple at the grocery store for a couple of weeks now. I took it as a sign to buy a pineapple. I’m a sucker for salsa. In college some of my dorm-mates would buy the gigantic pitcher of salsa from Costco and we would all overdose on chips and salsa. My husband hates when I eat it because he hates the smell of it but I simply can’t resist it. If I’m buying a jar of salsa I usually go for Green Mountain Gringo brand but I definitely prefer fresh salsa.

Pineapple and Black Bean Salsa

(adapted from March 2011 issue of Everyday Food)

  • 1 can (15.5 oz) organic black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped fresh pineapple
  • 1┬ájalape├▒o, stemmed, seeded and minced
  • 3 Tbsp finely chopped red onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • Juice from one medium lime
  • Coarse salt to season

Combine all ingredients. Serve with tortilla chips. (Refrigerate up to 3 days.) Makes 4 cups.

I didn’t even offer this to the kids. I’m keeping it all for myself.

