While we were at Disney World in November we went to the Hoop Dee Doo Revue and the dinner show served chicken pieces. The show was fantastic by the way and the kids still talk about it. While they weren’t thrilled about not being able to choose their meals since the food was served family style, my daughter did try two things that she hadn’t before. One was cornbread and the other was chicken legs. Normally I cook with boneless chicken so she was not used to chicken on bones.

Last week at the store my daughter asked me to buy a package of chicken legs. Now it was my husband’s turn to not be thrilled since he doesn’t like dark meat but he was a good sport about eating this meal. This recipe was inspired by Dine & Dish.

Baked Chicken Legs

  • 5 chicken legs
  • 1/2 tsp coarse salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp sage powder
  • 1/4 tsp dried rosemary
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp olive oil

Dry the chicken legs with paper towels and place into a large bowl.

Combine the dry ingredients and then sprinkle over the chicken. Add the olive oil to the bowl and toss to coat. Place chicken on a baking sheet lined with foil. Bake at 400 degrees F for 40 minutes.

While this was a promising recipe there was one problem… smoke. The olive oil splattered on the inside of the oven and created smoke throughout the house. Luckily it was fairly warm outside and we opened a couple of windows to dissipate the smoke. If I make this again I would use canola oil instead since it is less smoky.

In an effort to involve the entire family in my efforts here we have decided to start rating our new recipes in the same manner that we rate the movies we watched from Netflix.  Check out Our Rating System for an explanation.

K’s take on the recipe, “I was the one that picked the chicken legs. The chicken legs tasted terrible.” She rates this recipe  2 stars.

Dad’s and my rating was also 2 stars. E didn’t even try the chicken and had cereal for dinner.

