As young newlyweds years ago my husband and I subsisted on frozen french fries, fish sticks, and Hamburger Helper. Some nights dinner was a bag of Doritos set between us on the couch as we watched the free cable TV that came with our drafty apartment. Oh how we looked forward to Shark Week on Discovery. Thankfully we eat much healthier now but back then I remember calling my mom and asking her to send me some recipes. She even enlisted a close friend who helped her gather the recipes and included some of her own. This recipe comes from “Aunt” Kathy and includes a note that says “I make these only once or twice a year because I eat most of them!” It’s those little notes on the recipes cards that are so fun.

Dad’s Oatmeal Cookies

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1-1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1-1/1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp allspice
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 cup shredded coconut
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 2 Tbsp molasses
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Cream together butter and sugars. Add egg and mix well.  Add the rest of the ingredients in order, pausing to mix before adding the coconut, oats, molasses and vanilla. Mix well.  Roll into 1-inch balls and place on a greased cookie sheet. Press down with a fork. Bake for 12-14 minutes. Cool for 1 minute on baking sheet before cooling completely on a wire rack.

My husband loves these cookies. I’ve been making them for him for years. About 10 years ago while he was being treated for Hodgkin’s Disease (not fun) I coped with the stress by baking cookies for his oncologist and all the nurses. It felt good that they would look forward to us coming in every 2 weeks for his chemo because of my cookies. When I made these cookies for his oncologist for his first visit after the chemo was done I received a handwritten note in the mail telling me they were the best cookies that he had ever eaten and requesting the recipe. That’s a long way to say these cookies are a winner.

In fact, my kids were not interested in these cookies but my son came over while I was taking photos. Once he saw the cookie balanced on the glass of milk he decided right then to try them. He liked them and enjoyed dipping the cookies into milk.

