We’ve come a long way in our journey to adventurous eating. My kids are much better about trying new things and we’ve found some new favorites along the way. But I also need to make sure that I remember some of our old favorites. Sometimes those old favorites get forgotten among the excitement of the new favorites. My husband has been a great sport about trying new recipes lately and I’ve discovered that he’s much happier when I find time to bake some desserts for him that I know he loves. This recipe is one that I learned many years ago from my mother-in-law.

Nut Dainties

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs (yolks and whites separated)
  • 1/2 cup walnuts (chopped or halves)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Cream together butter, granulated sugar, egg yolks and vanilla. Add flour and baking powder. Mix until it comes together as a dough. You might need to use your hands.

Press dough into a square 8×8 baking pan.

Cover with walnuts. In another bowl whip egg whites until stiff peaks form. Gently fold in the brown sugar and spread over the walnuts. Bake in the bottom third of the oven for 20 to 25 minutes until the top is golden brown.

The trouble with Nut Dainties is that they are not very photogenic but I could not let that stop me from sharing this recipe. The whole pan disappeared within a couple of days.

