I must apologize about my lack of posts over the last week. It’s unusual for me to be able to stay away for that long. I’ve been very busy with work and blogging was nearly the last thing on my mind. I can’t believe that summer is almost here. We had our first barbecue this weekend and even though this side dish is roasted in the oven, it just tastes like summer to me.

This recipe is perfect to prepare in advance for a get together. You assemble it and then pop into the oven about an hour before you want to serve it.

Vegetable Tian

(adapted from Annabella’s Kitchen)

  • 1 large sliced onion or shallot
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 2 Tbsp dried thyme (fresh thyme works too)
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 4 Roma tomatoes
  • 2 medium zucchini
  • 2 medium summer squash
  • salt and pepper to taste

Heat 1 Tbsp olive olive in a frying pan over medium heat. Cook onions or shallot, 1 Tbsp of thyme and garlic in hot oil for about 2 minutes until softened.

Spread the onion, garlic and thyme over the bottom of a baking dish.

Cut the tomatoes, zucchini and summer squash into thin slices and begin to make layers alternating tomato, zucchini and summer squash.

Season each layer with salt, pepper and the remaining thyme.

Continue adding layers of vegetables until the dish is filled.  This will make enough for a 8-inch round pan and 8×4-inch casserole dish. Drizzle with remaining tablespoon of olive oil before baking.

Bake at 400 degrees F for about an hour. Serve hot.

The edges of my round pan looked burnt but this dish was perfect. The shallots were a lovely caramelized color and the vegetables were soft but not mushy. I would rate this recipe  5 stars because of the ease of preparation, the beautiful presentation and taste. You could probably change the herbs in this to your preference. I think that thyme is perfect but rosemary or sage would be good too.  I would suggest searching for web images of vegetable tian for examples of designs and variations of vegetables.

