One of my most favorites recipes is one that I watched on an episode of Mr. Rogers’ Neighborhood while my daughter was a toddler. In the episode Mr. Rogers visits with a Filipino chef who makes spinach egg rolls. I even took notes during the show so I could make them myself but the amounts were never discussed, only the ingredients. This spinach pastry tart was inspired by those egg rolls. Egg rolls are so much work and so messy that we rarely make them at home.  Baking something using frozen puff pastry feels a little like cheating but the results are beautiful so it’s worth it.

I saw this tart on Foodgawker which linked to a Romanian blog called Laura Adamache. I was so intrigued that I just had to try it out this past weekend. It was a hit with the family… not kids or husband but my mother-in-law had several pieces. I changed the filling to copy the flavor of those spinach egg rolls because we have people in the family who can’t eat cheese.

Spinach Pastry Tart

(adapted from Laura Adamache)

  • 1 package of frozen puff pastry, thawed
  • 2 boxes (9 oz) frozen chopped spinach, thawed, squeezed to drain
  • 4 scallions, finely chopped
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk mixed with 2 Tbsp milk

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Combine all ingredients in a bowl except for puff pastry and egg yolk/milk and mix well. On a lightly floured surface, roll out one sheet of puff pastry and cut into 4 equal sections.

Spread spinach mixture over the middle of each section and then roll the puff pastry section around it making a tube of pastry with a spinach filling.

Place the tube on an un-greased baking sheet and shape into a coil. Continue forming a coil by adding the pastry tubes around the center.

Repeat with the second sheet of puff pastry.

Brush top of pastry with egg yolk/milk mixture. Bake at 400 degrees F for 30 minutes.

Allow to cool slightly before cutting into wedges. Serve warm or at room temperature.

I rate this recipe  4 stars for presentation and taste.  It’s not 5 stars because I felt like the puff pastry was a little doughy in the middle.

