First I must tell you about my last couple of weeks… most significantly our first two weeks of picking up produce at our CSA (Old Nourse Farm). I was completely thrilled about going for our first pick-up. My daughter seemed slightly embarassed when she said “Mom, it’s not THAT exciting.” So, I worked on controlling my excitement for her sake. The greatest thing about the CSA at Old Nourse Farm is that you get to pick out what you get. They run the weekly pick-up on a point system. With my half share I have 22.5 points each week. The things available are marked with how many points you’ll use for each item, the highest amount being 5 points for a quart of strawberries. The strawberries were also limited to 2 quarts per person otherwise the rest of the things were unlimited.

I got 2 quarts of strawberries, 1 lb of rhubarb, 2 heads of lettuce, 1 bunch of spinach and 1 bunch of broccoli rabe and I was pretty happy with that.  I was most excited about the rhubarb. I clicked through all the rhubarb photos on the Foodgawker iPhone app and searched through all my cookbooks. I have several recipes bookmarked still as I expect to pick up rhubarb for many more weeks.  This recipe seemed the easiest and quickest.

Rhubarb Compote

(adapted from Everyday Food Fresh Flavor Fast cookbook)

  • 6 cups rhubarb chunks, (cut crosswise into 3/4-inch pieces)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 Tbsp finely grated peeled fresh ginger

Stir all ingredients in a large saucepan (off heat); let stand for 10 minutes until rhubarb releases some liquid.

Place pan over medium-high heat and bring to a boil, stirring occasionally.  Reduce heat; simmer, stirring occasionally, until rhubarb has softened but some whole pieces remain about 5 minutes. Remove from heat.

Allow to cool completely before serving. Compote can be refrigerated in an airtight container for up to 5 days.

Here’s how I enjoyed my compote:

  • mixed with plain yogurt for breakfast
  • spooned over pancakes instead of maple syrup
  • mixed with strawberries for Strawberry Shortcake
  • on their own with biscuits and cream for Rhubarb Shortcake

No one else in my family tried this recipe but this was not a problem for me. I rate this recipe  5 stars.

