Last weekend lemon poppy seed muffins popped into my head and I took that as a sign that I needed to make them. It’s strange how the brain works sometimes. I had no other choice than to bake me some muffins. Luckily the idea came to me right before my weekly trip to the grocery store so I quickly found a recipe that I thought looked good and added the necessary ingredients to my list. I had a slight case of sticker shock when I picked up the tiny bottle of poppy seeds for $5.00 but they were indeed quite necessary for the muffins.

Lemon Poppy Seed Yogurt Muffins

(adapted from Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook)

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp finely shredded lemon peel (about 1 medium lemon)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbsp poppy seed
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 1 8-oz container lemon yogurt
  • 1/3 cup canola or vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup sifted powdered sugar
  • 1 to 2 tsp freshly squeezed lemon juice

Line a 12-cup muffin tin with paper baking liners or grease the tin; set aside. In a medium mixing bowl combine flour, sugar, lemon peel, baking powder, baking soda, salt and poppy seeds. Make a well in the center of the dry mixture; set aside.

In another bowl combine egg, yogurt, oil and vanilla. Add egg mixture all at once to the dry mixture. Stir until just moistened (batter should be lumpy). Spoon batter into the prepared muffin cups, filling each 2/3 full.

Bake in at 400 degrees F for 18 to 20 minutes or till golden brown. Cool in muffin cups on a wire rack for 5 minutes. Meanwhile, stir together powdered sugar and enough lemon juice to make a glaze that is easy to drizzle. Drizzle over warm muffins; serve warm.

These muffins were quite wonderful and best when warm. My kids were slightly interested but only because they were joking that the poppy seeds looked like little bugs. You would think that might get them to try it but they didn’t. I ate all 12 muffins over the week for breakfast. I rate this recipe  4 stars.

