I made these pancakes right before we left for vacation because I was trying to use up any food that would go to waste if we didn’t eat it right away. I even used them to make myself a sandwich for the first day of our road trip.

Spinach & Basil Pancakes

(inspired by SpaBettie)

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 Tbsp white sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 Tbsp canola oil
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 6-8 fresh basil leaves

In a medium mixing bowl, stir together the flour, white sugar, baking powder, and salt. Make a well in the center of the dry mixture, set aside.

In another medium mixing bowl combined the egg, milk, and oil. Add egg mixture all at once to the dry mixture. Stir until just moistened (batter should be lumpy). Using a food processor, chop the spinach and basil until fine and mix into the pancake batter.

For standard-size pancakes, pour about 1/4 cup batter onto a hot, lightly greased griddle or heavy skillet. Cook over medium heat about 2 minutes each side or till pancakes are golden brown, turning to second side when pancakes have bubbly surfaces and edges are slightly dry.

Serve warm or store refrigerated in an airtight container for up to 5 days.

If you are using cold pancakes for a sandwich or as an accompaniment to a salad or soup, just place in the toaster for a quick reheat and they are as good as fresh.  You could change up the fresh herbs to taste or add some spring onions or garlic for a much more savory pancake.

I made cucumber and cream cheese sandwiches with them for breakfast.

They were also lovely with a fresh garden salad.  My family did not show any interest in my green pancakes but that was okay because I wanted them all for myself. I rate this recipe  5 stars for ease of preparation and for the variety of uses for the pancakes.

