Last week our CSA  had the cutest little eggplants. They were just picked and off to the side in a bucket so they weren’t yet labeled. I added some to my haul and headed over to my mother-in-laws to pick up the kids. As soon as the kids saw them they got excited and asked if they could each hold one on the way home. Seriously this is what I fantasize about… my kids excited about vegetables. At our next pick-up I learned that the cutest eggplants in the world are called Fairytale Eggplants. No wonder the kids were so enchanted by them.

With our first batch I made my eggplant chips. I managed to get my son to try them because both kids were negotiating over the biggest baking powder biscuit from a batch I made for strawberry shortcake. I promised that the person who ate the most eggplant chips would get said biscuit. My daughter did not even consider it but my son popped one in his mouth, chewed it and then spit it out. He won the biscuit.  If you want your kids to try new foods, you’ve got to let them spit things out if they don’t like it. That removes any anxiety for next time because they know they won’t be forced to ingest something they don’t want.

I’ll admit my favorite side dish is french fries and this recipe is my version of french fries using some tasty veggies from our CSA.

Vegetables Fries

  • assorted vegetables cut into sticks (zucchini, summer squash, cosa squash, eggplant)
  • 1/4 cup corn meal
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp sesame seeds

Mix dry ingredients in a plate. Press cut vegetables into the dry ingredients to coat evenly. Lay coated vegetables on a lined baking sheet (I used a Silpat) and spray lightly with canola or vegetable oil. Bake for 15 minutes at 400 degrees F.

I rate this recipe  4 stars.

