These cookie pops were my attempt at getting away with not baking for the cake walk for the kids’ school fundraiser. I felt like I was already doing so much that I needed something simple and quick. I did end up making brownies (a mix!) and some rice crispy treats but I thought cookie pops would be irresistible to the kids. I was right when it came to my kids. They begged to try them before I packaged them up for the cake walk.

Oreo Cookie Pops

  • 1 package Double-Stuffed Oreos
  • 2 bags of white chocolate chips (milk chocolate would be delicious as well)
  • 2 Tbsp solid vegetable shortening
  • lollipop sticks
  • sprinkles for decorating

Place chocolate chips and vegetable shortening in a double-boiler and heat over medium heat. While the chocolate is melting, insert a lollipop stick into each Oreo cookie and set aside. Prepare a couple of cookie sheets  by lining them with parchment or waxed paper.

Once the chocolate is melted, remove the double boiler from the heat. Hold a cookie pop by the cookie end and drip some of the chocolate over the part where the stick is inserted. You want to do this while holding the cookie pop over the bowl of chocolate so the excess drips back into the bowl. Now hold the cookie pop by the stick and spoon chocolate over the entire cookie allowing the excess to drip off. (I learned this the hard way after the first cookie fell off the stick into the bowl and several of the subsequent cookies spun around quite annoyingly while I was coating them.)

Place the pop flat onto the prepared cookie sheets and sprinkle immediately with sprinkles. Repeat with the rest of the cookie pops. Allow to cool completely before packaging them or place into the refrigerator for 15 minutes to speed up the hardening of the chocolate.

These were inspired by my Aunt who brought chocolate dipped Oreos to a Christmas party one year. I would definitely make these again. Next time I am going to use a foam ball for a better display.Even though I am not really a fan of Oreos or white chocolate I rate this recipe  5 stars because they are so easy and have a beautiful presentation.

