I think I’ll declare that it’s “eggnog week” at my house. Last week I baked eggnog cake but forgot to add the nutmeg so this weekend I baked another eggnog cake with nutmeg and also made a batch of eggnog cookies. This came to be because I bought the wrong kind of eggnog and now have a half-gallon that we’re trying to use creatively since I went out and bought another half-gallon of the “right” eggnog. I personally am not a fan of eggnog because I feel like I’m drinking a cup of melted ice cream when I’ve had it but the rest of the family loves it. They practically have a party when it first appears at the store around this time of year. I’ve even got another recipe lined up for eggnog cookies just to use up the wrong eggnog and we’re planning on having eggnog french toast for dinner on Friday night.

Though I don’t enjoy a nice cup of eggnog I think it’s great for baking. These cookies were a huge hit with the kids and the recipe makes enough to have some now and freeze some for later. It’s always good to have some back-up treats around this time of year.

Eggnog Cookies

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 2 cups light brown sugar, packed
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup eggnog
  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp coarse salt
  • granulated or raw sugar for rolling

In a large bowl, mix together the butter, brown sugar and eggs. Stir in eggnog. Measure flour, baking soda and salt on top of the eggnog/butter mixture and briefly mix dry ingredients with a fork. Stir until completely incorporated. Cover bowl and chill for at least 1 hour.

Heat oven to 375 degrees F. Make teaspoon-sized balls of cookie dough and roll in sugar before placing on parchment-lined (or lightly-greased) baking sheets. Bake for 7-8 minutes, or until the cookies bounce back when lightly touched.

Cool completely on wire racks and store in an airtight container. Make about 6 dozen cookies.

These are cookies have a cakey texture and the sugar coating adds some crispness to them. I also made some as drop cookies without rolling them in sugar and the kids seem to prefer those ones. They were arguing about who liked these cookies better as they gobbled them up yesterday afternoon.  We all rate these cookies  5 stars.

