Here is a recipe that I found on Pinterest that I had been salivating over for so long. I had planned to make these for our neighborhood holiday party but husband pooh-poohed that idea. I ended up making them for myself because I couldn’t wait for another event to make them. Turns out this is a great way to use up some extra chicken. I’ve made these on 4 separate occasions and it worked out great because I could make just enough for one person and it was super easy. Husband is such a party-pooper sometimes and would not try even a nibble. I knew the kids wouldn’t be able handle the hot sauce so I didn’t offer these to them. I think that these would be a great party food and I’m definitely going to bring them to the next party I’m invited to just because I know other people will love them too.

Baked Buffalo Chicken Egg Rolls

(adapted from Can You Stay for Dinner?)

  • Egg roll wrappers (you can usually find them near the Tofu at the store)
  • Shredded chicken (I used leftover, rotisserie chicken.)
  • Frank’s Original Cayenne Pepper Sauce
  • Broccoli slaw
  • Mild cheddar cheese, grated (Andie uses blue cheese which is the natural pairing for buffalo chicken.)
  • Canola oil in a spray bottle (Pampered Chef sells a great oil sprayer.)

Preheat oven to 400°F. Place the chicken in a small bowl. Pour the hot sauce over the chicken, more or less to taste, and toss to coat evenly.  On a clean work surface or plate, lay out an egg roll wrapper. Pinch a desired amount of broccoli slaw and place in the center of the wrapper. Spoon about 1 tablespoon of chicken mixture on top of the slaw and sprinkle some cheese over that.

Fold up the egg roll wrapper. There will be illustrated instructions on the back of the wrapper package.  Seal the wrapper with a small amount of water and place egg roll on a wire rack set on a baking sheet.

When all the egg rolls are sealed and on the rack spray them with canola oil on all sides. I held each egg roll in one hand and sprayed with the other to ensure that all sides were coated.  You don’t need much oil to get the wrapper to bubble and crisp the way it’s supposed to.

Bake for 15 minutes flipping once until browned on all sides.

Serve with either ranch dressing or blue cheese dressing for dipping. I skipped the dip and loved them just the same. Since egg roll wrappers usually come in a quantity of 50 you can freeze the extra in a sealed plastic bag. Just thaw in the fridge before using them.

I rate this recipe  5 stars because it’s so easy to make and delicious.

