This recipe is like kryptonite for me. I can’t make them without eating almost the whole batch. So instead I made some for a Teacher’s Appreciation luncheon this past week. That way I can have one or two little servings and send the rest off so they will not tempt me. I get to enjoy them without guilt. Whenever I send something for a potluck event I like to label it so people know what it is. Usually it’s in the form of a sticky-note attached to the wrap. But this time I feel like I had a stroke of genius by writing the recipe name on the edge of the paper plate. It’s the little things, you know.

I originally posted this recipe in June 2010 but I think that they are so good that I would share them again.

Butterscotch Brownies

(from Betty Crocker’s Cooky Book)

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts (optional) – You can substitute 1/2 coconut flakes for Butterscotch Coconut Brownies.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Melt butter in microwave. Stir in sugar until blended; cool. Stir in egg. Stir flour, baking powder, and salt together; blend in. Mix in vanilla and walnuts (if using). Spread in well-greased square pan, 8x8x2″. Bake 20 to 25 minutes. Do not overbake! Cut in bars while warm. Makes 18 bars.

I doubled the recipe for the luncheon.

