I can’t help it! I love alliteration. It’s my favorite literary device. Pretty nerdy right? This recipe has been on my wishlist for a while and I’ve finally gotten the nerve to try it. My only exposure to radishes have been as garnishes to salads. I’ve found radishes bearable but I wouldn’t seek them out. But who doesn’t love a radish cut into a tulip as my mother used to do for church potluck dinners. A radish is more than just for salads. Roasting takes away that spicy bite you get when they are raw and sweetens them up. I’ll never look at radishes as bearable ever again. Roasted red radishes are really divine. (I couldn’t think of a “R” word for delicious.)

Roasted Red Radishes

  • 1 bunch of radishes (This made enough for 1 serving.)
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • large pinch of coarse salt
  • ground black pepper

Preheat oven to 425°F. Rinse and quarter radishes.

Place into an appropriately sized casserole dish for the amount you are making. The radishes should be in one layer. Pour olive oil over the radishes and toss to coat. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Bake for 45 minutes or until the white of the radishes are golden and the red has faded to pink.

My family would not try this recipe but my son has promised that he will the next time I make it. Apparently, he saw something on Curious George about radishes being spicy. But I assured him otherwise for these. There’s my motivation to make this recipe again as soon as possible. One of the farms nearby already has radishes from their gardens available so I was happy that they were fresh and local as well. I rate this recipe 5 stars.

