My first paying cookie gig! Nevermind that the payment was a bottle of Chambord and a gift card to Barnes & Noble. Those are both things that I will definitely use. These were made for my co-worker’s son whose 2nd birthday was this past weekend. Last year, I made him Cookie Monster Cookies but that was part of the Cookie-of-the-Month donation that I made to our annual charity auction.

Inspiration came from Pinterest. The Lorax cake pops did impress us but I quickly discouraged them after my first and only attempt at cake pops last year. I had so much fun making these that I’m considering suggesting the Lorax theme to my son for his 7th birthday. I love the theme of the book and thought that the movie was well done.

You will need to buy orange and yellow gel food coloring and candy eye balls. I found the candy eye balls at Michael’s. There are three steps to making your own Lorax sugar cookies:

Step 1 – Bake some sugar cookies!

I used an Easter Egg cookie cutter for my oval shapes but you could also use a circle or even a square. The key to these cookies is the moustache.

Step 2 – Frost the basecoat and allow to dry overnight.

Buy a container of meringue powder and use the instructions for flood frosting. Use gel food coloring to tint two thirds of the frosting orange. Use yellow food coloring to tint the remainder of the frosting. Save the yellow frosting in an airtight container and about 3 Tbsp of the orange frosting in a separate container for the next step. Using a pastry bag with a plain round tip pipe a line along the edge of each cookie with orange frosting. Flood each cookie with orange frosting tapping the cookie against the counter using a toothpick to fill in completely. Immediately after applying the flood icing place two candy eyeballs onto each cookie. Allow to dry overnight.

Step 3 – Frost the details and dry again!

Stir up the reserved yellow frosting and place into a pastry bag with a plain round tip. Pipe eyebrows and the outline of the moustache. Fill in the moustache with yellow frosting and tap cookie on the counter to smooth out. Pipe round noses above the moustache and dry for 8-10 hours or overnight.

My kids love anything with candy eyeballs and I would have to agree that they make almost anything cute. It reminds me of the Christopher Walken skit on SNL when he’s the Googly Eyes Gardener.  It’s one of my favorites.

So there you go… some super cute cookies and a random Christopher Walken skit. The day is complete.

