These muffins were baked this morning and there are only two left out of the dozen. I’m spending the week home with the kids and they were beyond thrilled with freshly baked muffins.

“These are the best muffins I’ve ever eaten.” proclaimed my son.

“You really should start a bakery.” my daughter declared.

With comments like that I have to work hard at not getting too full of myself. I love that my kids are also my biggest fans. All that appreciation makes me want to bake muffins for them every morning. At the rate the muffins are devoured, I’m going to need to.

Chocolate Chip Muffins with Coconut

Dry ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup raw cane sugar (turbinado sugar)
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Wet ingredients:

  • 1 cup milk, room temperature
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Optional – 2-3 Tbsp shredded coconut (for topping)

Preheat oven to 350° F. Prepare a 12-cup muffin tin with paper liners.  In a large bowl, add all the dry ingredients and stir to combine. Set aside. In a small bowl whisk together the wet ingredients. (If you don’t have time to bring the milk to room temperature, the coconut oil will resolidify but don’t worry. It won’t affect the results.) Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and gently stir until just combined. Never beat muffin batter. Spoon heaping tablespoons of the batter into the prepared muffin tin evenly for 12 muffins. If you wish to make larger sized muffins, just fill 9 of the cups. Sprinkle tops with coconut if using.

Bake for 20 minutes. Cool for 10 minutes on wire rack before serving.

I like that these are so quick to put together and that the addition of the whole wheat flour was barely noticeable.  The coconut was nicely toasted by the time the muffins were completely baked. The kids and I rate this recipe  5 stars. (They actually said 6 stars but that’s more than we normally rate. You get the idea that they loved them.)

