I grew up with a fairly restricted diet. We were heavily influenced by the church we attended which was a little over the top as far as rules go. Anything containing lard was out as well as any pork products. We never had white bread in the house and sugary cereals were a definite no no. I remember that happy day when Ritz crackers were finally okay because they stopped making them with lard. Trained at an early age, I still thoroughly read the ingredients on the food that I buy.

What does this all have to do with chicken pot pie? Here’s the thing, when I would visit my grandmother she would always have every kind of sugary kid cereal available stocked at her house for our visits. Grandparents are licensed to spoil their grandkids. I specifically remember one visit when I stayed by myself at her house and she made us those frozen mini chicken pot pies for dinner. I was hooked immediately but upon returning home my mother refused to buy them because they were made with the evilest of all shortening…. lard.

Fast forward to the present, chicken pot pie has since made only a few brief appearances in my life. After I got home from the hospital with my daughter, my sister-in-law made us a chicken pot pie which I ate entirely myself because my picky husband wouldn’t eat it. Again when I had my son I requested the same chicken pot pie which I hoarded also. So when I asked my husband if he had ever tried chicken pot pie, he said no because it always had peas and carrots in it. It became my goal to get him to like it and I’m happy to report that he does. It has been added to the regular rotation for our weekly menu.

Long introduction to a classic recipe, to which I’m sure everyone has their own version. Here’s my take on it, eliminating the hated onion in our house but allowing for some personalization for your own tastes. I make these using small ramekins for a throwback to my days at my grandmother’s.

Chicken Pot Pie

Ingredients

  • Recipe for Baking Powder Biscuit dough
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 Tbsp dried or fresh sage, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp dried marjoram
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/2 tsp each, salt & pepper
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 3 cups cubed cooked chicken
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup vegetables, sliced thinly (My favorites are green beans, zucchini, mushrooms.)

Directions

  1. Prepare dough for baking powder biscuits and set aside. (Or to save time, use refrigerated biscuits.)
  2. Preheat oven to 400°F.
  3. In a saucepan, melt butter then add the dry herbs. Cook briefly over medium heat until fragrant.
  4. Stir in flour, salt and pepper.
  5. Add chicken broth and milk at the same time and whisk until the flour has dissolved completely.
  6. Cook until bubbly and thickened slightly.
  7. Meanwhile, if you are making some pot pies without vegetables, divide the chicken evenly amongst your ramekins adding vegetables to half of them. Or divide all the vegetables equally among the ramekins or even add all the vegetables and chicken to a pie plate or casserole dish.
  8. Once the “gravy” is ready pour over your chicken in ramekins/pie plate/casserole dish.
  9. Top with biscuit dough. You can roll it out flat like a pie crust or just place whole biscuits on top.
  10. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until the biscuit crust is golden brown and the pie filling is bubbling.

Husband actually loves this recipe and comments about how good it smells when I’m preparing it. We have been able to get the kids to try this a couple of times but they aren’t fans of gravy-consistency just yet so we’ll just keep at them. I love that I can have my vegetables without the rest of the family complaining though I’d love for them to just stop complaining.

I rate this recipe  5 stars for comfort and versatility.

