For my second month participating in Foodie Pen Pals, I decided to send along some baked goods. I had some maple sugar from Trader Joe’s that I needed to try out and I thought it was a good opportunity. As I type up this recipe I realize that I messed it up when I was mixing it. I should have used more butter than I did and that’s why my cookies were very biscuit-like.

They still tasted good but I feel bad now that I mailed off a batch of less than perfect cookies. My husband even commented that these were not my best work. Oh well. I think that they enjoyed them anyway. The ones that I kept were promptly devoured.

Maple Sugar Cookies

  • 4 1/2 cups all-purpose flour plus more for dusting
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature - should have used 2 cups of butter
  • 1 cup maple sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tsp vanilla extract
  • Royal icing for decorating

Preheat oven to 350° F. Cream together butter and maple sugar using an electric mixer. Mix on medium speed until pale and fluffy. Mix in the eggs, vanilla and baking powder. Gradually mix in the flour using a wooden spoon. No chilling is necessary.

Roll out dough and cut with cookie cutters. (Maple sugar cookies in the shape of maple leaves of course.) Bake on a lined baking sheet for 8-10 minutes and then cool completely before icing. Decorate cooled cookies with royal icing. Allow the iced cookies to dry for 8 hours or overnight before placing in an airtight container for storage up to one week.

I enjoyed using the maple sugar since it’s less processed than white sugar but it is quite pricey. However, if you substitute maple sugar for white sugar in a recipe you’ll only need half as much. The maple flavor is very subtle so don’t worry that it will be overpowering. Also, I used natural food coloring from India Tree for the first time and it worked out great. Well worth the extra cost for a natural substitute to artifical food coloring.

Check out my latest project called Try Art You Might Like It  featuring a 30-day drawing challenge that I’m working on with the kids.

