Last month I was contacted by Sabra Dipping Company to try out some of their new flavors of hummus and of course I said yes. They shipped a box with seven containers of hummus and I set forth to incorporate some of it into a recipe. That much hummus was a little overwhelming to me so I asked my Facebook friends, my neighbors and my co-workers about their favorite ways to eat hummus. I got some amazing ideas from everyone including to use it mixed with broth to make a sauce for pasta and vegetables, to make pizza with it, to bake bread with it, and to stuff chicken with some of it. All of the people with whom I discussed hummus agreed on one thing… that Sabra hummus is the best.

I am very happy to share that my son tried out the different flavors of hummus with me and he liked it. His exact comment to his sister was, “It’s not great but I like it.” Whatever that means? I have a feeling that his willingness to try it stemmed from the fact that it was sent to us in a big box. His suggestion for a recipe was to make hummus cookies. Hmmm??? That’s a tough one. We’ll leave that challenge to the Iron Chef’s or someone like that.

My favorite flavor of the ones that were sent was the Asian Fusion one because it has ginger in it. I wasn’t crazy about the chopped carrots that were on top of the hummus as I thought it tasted great without that garnish but it does add interest to an otherwise boring-looking food. I think some cilantro would be a great addition instead of the carrots. That’s why I made sure to add cilantro to my recipe because I felt like it was missing. Most of my co-workers suggested using hummus instead of mayo in sandwiches and that’s what inspired my idea for tuna salad.

Asian Tuna Salad

Yield: Makes 1 sandwich.

Ingredients

  • 4.5 ounces of tuna
  • 2 heaping Tablespoons Sabra Asian Fusion hummus
  • 1 gourmet baby cucumber, cubed
  • 1 teaspoon rice vinegar
  • 1-2 Tablespoons chopped cilantro
  • pinch of salt
  • chow mein noodles, to garnish
  • pita bread

Directions

  1. In a small bowl, add the cucumber and the rice vinegar and toss to coat. Sprinkle with a pinch of salt.
  2. Add cilantro, tuna and hummus and mix together.
  3. Spoon into the pita bread and garnish with the chow mein noodles.

If you’re anything like me, you get stuck in a food rut sometimes. Maybe it’s a minor obsession with a food that’s in season so you feel like you’ve got to take advantage of it while it lasts. Or maybe it’s just because you like something so much that you repeat it on your menu until you get a little tired of it. I think that I inherited this tendency to overdose on a certain food from my mother. When I was a teenager, my mother went on a chickpea (garbanzo beans) kick to rival all other food obessions. Chickpeas were omnipresent on all our salads and in meat loaf. Frankly, I kind of hated the texture of them and as a result it took me a long time get on the hummus band-wagon.

Why is there even a band-wagon for hummus? Apparently, hummus has been around for thousands of years, dating back to the ancient Egyptians. It’s a very popular way to get some extra lean protein into your diet. I learned from eHow that hummus has health benefits for the heart and that chickpeas contain a mineral that helps detoxify sulfites from your body among other things. Okay, seriously hummus should be considered a super-food, right?

If you head over to Facebook and like Sabra, you can get coupons, win prizes, and check out Chefs making over their favorite recipes.

Disclosure: This post was sponsored by Sabra Dipping Company and I was compensated for my time and sent samples. All opinions above are completely my own.