Red Velvet Oreo Truffle Brownies 1

It was auction day at my office last Friday. This year I didn’t donate the cookie-of-the-month club like I usually do. Instead I bid on and won a dessert-of-the-month for 6 months from my friend, Abby. Abby baked these AMAZING brownies for the winner to take home. The thing is that this recipe is something I would never have decided to try even though they look delicious. That’s the beauty of having Abby bake for me for the next five months. I’ll be able to share a new recipe with all of you but I won’t need to do the work.

Abby found this recipe on Pinterest of course because that’s the best website ever.

Red Velvet Oreo Truffle Brownies

(adapted from Pizzazzerie)

  • 1 box – Red Velvet cake mix
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 package instant white chocolate pudding (3.3 ounces)
  • 6 tablespoons vegetable or canola oil
  • 1 package chocolate Oreos (not double-stuffed)
  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened 15 seconds in microwave or room temperature
  • 1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet mini chocolate chips for garnish

Red Velvet Oreo Truffle BrowniesPreheat oven to 325°F. Prepare a 9×13-inch baking dish by greasing with butter or solid vegetable shortening and then lining with parchment paper. Spray parchment paper with cooking spray and set aside. In a large bowl, add cake mix, butter, eggs, pudding mix, oil and stir together until fully combined. The batter will be thick. Spread batter into the prepared baking dish. Bake for about 20 minutes or until completely cooked. It’s done when a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow to cool completely in the baking dish.

Meanwhile, prepare the next layer by crushing all the Oreos either in a food processing or in a large zip-top bag with a rolling pin.  Mix together the crushed Oreos with the cream cheese until smooth. Spread the Oreo/cream cheese mixture on top of the red velvet cake layer. You will need to use your hands to press the it down to prevent tearing the cake layer.

Melt the 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips in a glass measuring cup at 30-second intervals until smooth. Pour the melted chocolate over the Oreo/cream cheese layer and then sprinkle with the mini chocolate chips. Chill in refrigerator until the chocolate is firm. Remove the brownies from the pan by lifting out using the parchment paper. Cut into squares. You will likely need to cut off the edges for the prettiest effect.

Red Velvet Oreo Truffle Brownies 4

I was so impressed with how much these looked like the photo on Pinterest. Didn’t Abby do an incredible job? My kids have already asked me to make these again. Although I don’t usually use cake mixes but I would  for this recipe. I can even imagine different flavor combinations using similar methods.

Red Velvet Oreo Truffle Brownies 2

