fried green tomatoes redo

If you are like me, you frequently prepare yourself a single-serving of vegetables because you continue to struggle with getting your family to eat vegetables. It’s pretty often that I make myself a big salad instead of what I’ve made for the rest of the family. I adore fried green tomatoes but no one else in my family does so I need to make just enough for me to enjoy. This recipe makes me so happy.

Fried Green Tomatoes for One

  • 1 medium green tomato, sliced
  • 1 tablespoon flour
  • 1 tablespoon corn meal
  • dash salt, pepper, and cayenne pepper
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil (organic if you can get it)

For the Sauce:

  • 2 teaspoons mayo
  • 1 teaspoon herb-infused vinegar
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 2 basil leaves, chopped
  • 4-5 cherry tomatoes, diced

On a small plate mix together the flour, corn meal, salt, pepper, and cayenne pepper with a fork. Press each side of the green tomato slices into the flour mixture coating evenly. Heat the oil over medium heat in a frying pan. Place each coated tomato slice into the hot oil and fry for 2-3 minutes until golden brown. Drain on paper towels while you prepare the sauce. For the sauce, mix together the mayo, vinegar, salt, pepper and basil leaves. Arrange the fried green tomatoes on a plate and pour the sauce over them. Top with diced cherry tomatoes.

fried green tomatoes with herb sauce

The yard at my new house has fantastic sun coverage and I’m thrilled that I’ve actually got plenty of tomatoes on my plants. So while I wait for them to turn red I am making friend green tomatoes as often as twice a week.

