This week I am in Florida for work and because I feel guilty for leaving my husband at home with the two kids I baked him one of his favorite things before I left. I also bought a neat gadget for pitting cherries and wanted an excuse to try it out. The Cherry Chomper was great fun for me and my daughter. My daughter says that she doesn’t like cherries because once when she was two she had such a terrible tantrum that she made herself throw up and she had eaten cherries that day. So, now in her head cherries make her throw up. She handled almost all the cherry pitting duty and that was fine with her so I’m hoping that she’ll work up to eating cherries again. They are one of my favorite fruits. I would highly recommend the Cherry Chomper. It was very easy to use and clean. It is a cute little gadget that appealed to both my kids. This recipe was included with the packaging for the Cherry Chomper.

While using this my daughter said to me, "Mom, maybe someday I'll be an awesome chef too." Awwwww

Sweet Cherry Pie

  • Basic pastry dough for 9-inch two crust pie
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 1/2 Tbsp quick cooking tapioca
  • 3 cups fresh sweet cherries, pitted
  • 2 tsp butter

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Line a pie pan with half of the pastry dough. Mix sugar and tapioca. Stir in cherries until well coated. Turn into pastry lined pie plate. Dot with butter (optional). I forgot to do the butter. Use the remaining dough to make a lattice tope. Crimp the edges. Bake for 10 minutes, then reduce heat to 350 degrees and bake for 30-40 minutes more or until the crust is brown and juice begins to bubble through.

Cherry pie filling.

I was too lazy to make the lattice crust.

Cherry pie for my wonderful husband holding down the fort at home.

