This morning was a struggle. My little boy was sick with a sinus infection and who knew that when the antibiotics started kicking in that he would feel sicker because all the yucky stuff was draining down his throat. Poor little guy. A nurse in our pediatrician’s office recommended some flat ginger ale and white bread toast to save the day and all is well again. Flat ginger ale always makes me feel like a kid. Now my son thinks it is the magic get-well drink. He laughed at how I poured the ginger ale between two cups to get the fizz out quicker.

I needed a stronger drink but made due by adding some frozen cherries to my ginger ale this afternoon.

Dinner tonight was my daughter’s choice for the week, Chicken Marsala. This recipe comes from the Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook with a couple minor changes since we like this to be very saucy. I received that cookbook as a wedding gift and I would recommend it for anyone setting up house. It’s got all the basic recipes to help you learn to cook. This is a fast recipe as I started working on dinner at 5:30 and it was ready by 6:15.

Chicken Marsala

  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves (thin sliced or pounded thin)
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 tsp dried marjoram, crushed
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp fresh ground pepper
  • 1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms
  • 2 Tbsp sliced scallions (1) – I left this out this time.
  • 3 Tbsp butter
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup dry Marsala wine or dry sherry

Stir together flour, marjoram, salt and pepper on a plate. Rinse and trim chicken. Lightly press chicken pieces into the flour mixture on both sides; shake off excess. In a large skillet cook mushrooms and scallions in 1 Tbsp of butter until tender; remove from skillet. In the same skillet cook chicken pieces in remaining butter over medium-high heat for 4 minutes, turning to brown evenly. Add mushrooms and scallions back to skillet. Carefully add broth and wine. Cook, uncovered, for 2 to 3 minutes or until mushroom mixture thickens slightly, stirring occasionally. Serve chicken, mushrooms and sauce over cooked pasta. Makes 4 servings.

Sometimes I cook down the wine a little before adding the broth. It adds a wonderful caramelized color.

