I love my mother-in-law. I really really do. Not only does she do a great job taking care of my kids while I’m at work but she sends home delicious treats. Today there was a plate of Whoopie Pies for us and the kids devoured them when we got home. Luckily I saved one for my husband because he rarely gets the treats after the kids have been at them. This is why I’m a lucky girl. My mother-in-law loves my kids so fiercely like they are her own and she bakes us great stuff. Not only Whoopie Pies, but rolls, bread, cookies, cakes and pie.  This recipe is her recipe. I’ve never tried it on my own because I don’t need to she bakes them for us.

Whoopie Pies

This is my mother-in-law’s original recipe. You can tell that it is a well used recipe card. I’m not sure why there is a pant size noted on the corner. 🙂

For the cake:

  • 3/4 cup shortening, melted
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla

For the filling:

  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1 1/2 cups confectioners sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups marshmallow fluff
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • milk

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Mix all the ingredients for the cake until combined. Drop by teaspoonful on an ungreased baking sheet. Bake for 7 minutes at 425 degrees. Cool on racks. Once cool mix together the ingredients for the filling, adding milk by the teaspoon until you get the right consistency to spread on the cake without it being too runny.

Today I learned that Whoopie Pies are a traditional New England recipe. How cool is that?

Read about the history of the Whoopie Pie here.

