I’ve made this recipe several times and I end up eating them all because the kids don’t like the walnuts. Today I made a batch of these brownies and left out the walnuts and guess what… they ate them all. Okay, well I helped but they are just too yummy. I was going to bring these brownies to a cookout tomorrow but now I’ve got to make something else. My daughter had a friend over who wandered into the kitchen and declared “Something smells delicious and I’m hungry.” I couldn’t resist sharing the freshly baked brownies with her.

This recipe comes from Betty Crocker’s Cooky Book. (That’s not spelled wrong… it’s how they spelled cookie in 1963.) The cookbook showed up on my Amazon.com suggestions a while ago and when I saw it I literally cried. After I dried my eyes I immediately ordered it just because of the intense emotional reaction I had. I didn’t think a cookbook could have that sort of power. This is a reissue of the exact cookbook that I poured over as a child. My Mom had it in her cookbook collection and it was in terrible shape. The cover was ripped off and sections missing but I still sat at our kitchen table every so often and flipped through the pages admiring all the beautiful color photos in the book. My favorites were the decorated sugar cookies that were painted like watercolors. I made my first batch of sugar cookies from this book. No one in my family would eat them but I thought they were wonderful.

Now I’m working my way through this cookbook. I’ve only made a few recipes so far but this one was my favorite because I can’t resist brownies and it is so easy to make. There are so many interesting recipes from around the world in this cookbook. For example, have you ever heard of Zimtsterne from Switzerland or Sandbakelser from Sweden? I highly recommend this book.

My daughter’s friend hinted around that she wanted the recipe for her mom by saying “You know my mom doesn’t really have many recipes like this.” I sent her home with a recipe card and the last four brownies. I enjoy people who appreciate my baking.

I sent these ones home with a lovely visitor who thought they were delicious.

Butterscotch Brownies

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts (optional) – You can substitute 1/2 coconut flakes for Butterscotch Coconut Brownies.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Melt butter in microwave. Stir in sugar until blended; cool. Stir in egg. Stir flour, baking powder, and salt together; blend in. Mix in vanilla and walnuts (if using). Spread in well-greased square pan, 8x8x2″. Bake 20 to 25 minutes. Do not overbake! Cut in bars while warm. Makes 18 bars.

These are wonderfully rich and chewy.