This is a photo of my happy place. (It’s one of a few places.) When I sit on the beach chair here all stress just drains out of me and I can fully relax. We went to Cape Cod for a couple days and the kids are still there with the grandparents for a few more days. My mother-in-law always makes us an awesome Mango Salsa while we’re there and she sends me home with any leftover salsa because she knows how much I love it. It is such a fresh and delicious summer treat.

Mango Salsa

  • 1 large mango, diced
  • 1/2 large red pepper, diced
  • 1 small cucumber, diced (size of a pickling cucumber)
  • 1 Tbsp fresh ginger, grated
  • 1 jalapeño pepper, seeded and diced
  • 2+ Tbsp honey
  • Juice from 1 medium lime
  • 1 scallion (or chives)

Combine all ingredients and mix. Chill for 1 hour and then serve. You can also serve it immediately but it is better if you let the flavors mingle first.

Mango is such a pretty fruit.

Here my mother-in-law dices the red pepper.

This is such a beautiful salsa. We love it as a side dish.

I've always wanted to try the mango salsa on a hot dog and this weekend I did. It was delicious. Way better than ketchup and mustard.

