I’ve got to tell you, I’m not a big fan of potato salad. The neon yellow and egginess of it puts me off. I mean I’ll eat it if there’s nothing else but it’s never my first choice. So when I saw this recipe for Dilly Baby Red Potato Salad in an issue of Prevention magazine from May 2008 I thought I just might like it. Instead of neon yellow you get bright green. I made it for everyone this weekend. My father-in-law joked that it would be good for a St. Patrick’s Day meal. I really liked the combination of the avocado and dill. Maybe I like potato salad after all.

Dilly Baby Red Potato Salad (from Prevention magazine)

  • 2 lb. baby red potatoes
  • 2 large ribs celery, thinly sliced (about 1/2 cup)
  • 1 cup mashed avocado (The recipe says 2 avocados here but I only used one.)
  • 1 Tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 2 Tbsp sour cream
  • 2 scallions, thinly sliced
  • 1 Tbsp finely chopped fresh dill
  • 1/2 salt

Place potatoes in large pot and cover with cold water (add salt if desired). Bring to a boil and cook 20 minutes or until just tender. Drain. Chill completely, about 1 hour.

Slice potatoes and place in a large bowl. Stir in celery.

Mix avocado and lemon juice in small bowl. Add sour cream, scallions, dill, and salt and stir. Combine with potato mixture. Serve immediately. (Garnish with additional fresh dill if desired.) Add more lemon juice to leftovers to help maintain color. Keep tightly covered and chilled.

This is a nice alternative to classic potato salad. All the creamy texture comes from healthy avocado.

