I don’t normally man the grill but this weekend I decided to handle it myself. I had bookmarked this recipe from Real Mom Kitchen. I was hoping this would appeal to my picky husband but alas after one bite he heated up some leftovers from the fridge. I thought it was pretty good but I would adjust some of the spices next time. The paprika and chili powder was a little too much.  I did really like how the rub worked out on the chicken. It does give you a beautiful, quick and flavorful result.

Sweet and Spicy Chicken (from Real Mom Kitchen)

  • 2 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp paprika
  • 2 tsp onion powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 5 boneless skinless chicken breast halves (6 ounces each)

Trim all the fat from the chicken and pat dry with some paper towels. Combine the first five ingredients; rub over chicken. Coat grill rack with cooking spray for grills or brush with olive oil before starting the grill. Grill chicken, covered,  for 4-5 minutes on each side or until a meat is white throughout.

The spices were a beautiful combination.

I was worried that the chicken was going to stick to the grill. But it didn't. How great is that?

The next I make this I am going to make it hot spicy with some cayenne pepper.

